NOPSSCEA Schools Reap Victory Campus Journalism Tilt

College publications from member schools of Negros Occidental Private Schools Sports Cultural Educational Association (NOPSSCEA) received awards during the College Press Conference and Awards (COPRE) 2017, held last Dec. 5 at the Iloilo Convention Center, Iloilo City.

Patricia Loren Estilo of The Eagle publication from Colegio San Agustin – Bacolod shows her medals in Feature Writing English and Editorial Writing English. Photo courtesy of Kennyveb Casabuena.

Participating school publications were The Spectrum of University of St. La Salle (USLS), The Ripples of La Consolacion College Bacolod (LCCB), The Eagle of Colegio San Agustin – Bacolod (CSA-B), Tolentine Star of University of Negros Occidental – Recoletos (UNO-R), The Wheelhouse of Visayan Maritime Academy (VMA) Global College & Training Centers, Inc., and The Carrier of John B. Lacson Colleges Foundation – Bacolod (JBLCF).

The Spectrum brought home first place Best Literary Folio, second place Best News Page, fifth place Best Editorial Page, fifth place Best Online Newsletter, fifth place Best Sports Page, and fifth place Best Wall News for the publications category.

The following members of The Spectrum also won in the individual writing tests: Andrea Farol – second place Sports Writing Filipino and fourth place Copyreading and Headlining Filipino, Starlene Portillo – second place Copyreading and Headlining English, Joshua Guanco – third place Sports Writing English, Iris Rivera – fourth place News Writing Filipino, Jyan Opena – fourth place Sports Writing Filipino, Katherine Co – fifth place Copyreading and Headlining Filipino, and Ian Kristoffer Ga – fifth place Sports Writing Filipino.

The Ripples on the other hand received third place Best Online Newsletter and fifth place Best Magazine Layout in the publications category, and for the individual writing tests, John Pierre Jarmonilla won fifth place in Copyreading and Headlining English, while Lance Christian Torres was fifth place in Editorial Writing English.

Participants from The Ripples publication of La Consolacion College Bacolod takes a picture onstage with their awards. Photo courtesy of Ziarene Talamillo.

Other winners from other publications were: Jan Rick Rojo of The Wheelhouse – first place News Writing English, Patricia Loren Estilo of The Eagle – first place Feature Writing English and second place Editorial Writing English, and Rica Mae Resotay of Tolentine Star – fourth place News Writing English; Zayber Araya from The Carrier was crowned Mr. COPRE 2017.

Participants from The Wheelhouse publication of Visayan Maritime Academy Global College & Training Centers, Inc. Photo courtesy of Elmer Jun Basa.

“It felt really fulfilling to have all the time and effort spent by everyone in the making of our outputs rewarded by those awards. All the sleepless nights and struggles to bring out our creativity was worth it. I’m really proud of my team!” said Andrea Farol, Editor-in-Chief of The Spectrum.

Big smiles were seen from the participants of University of St. La Salle’s The Spectrum publication as they boast numerous awards. Photo courtesy of Kyle Jyrax Sevilla.

“We really prepared for the individual contests with workshops and qualifying exams. It was a collaborative effort in helping each other improve in their field. Although, it was really a surprise for most of us because we placed in the categories we least expected we would win, overall, this year’s COPRE, my last one, is definitely one for the books,” she added.

COPRE is an annual campus journalism competition for Western Visayas tertiary school publications organized by the Philippine Information Agency Region 6 (PIA-6).


Zayber Araya from John B. Lacson Colleges Foundation – Bacolod’s The Carrier publication was awarded as Mr. COPRE 2017 by PIA-6 Regional Director Atty. Janet Mesa, Ph.D. Photo courtesy of John Dale Kaw.

John Pierre N. Jarmonilla

social position advance

Share this post